by David B. Valdivia

“Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life (CCC 1210).”

The Catholic Church recognizes 7 sacraments:

  1. Baptism
  2. Penance & Reconciliation
  3. Eucharist
  4. Confirmation
  5. Marriage
  6. Holy Orders
  7. Anointing of the Sick

By active participation in the sacraments, Catholics strengthen their unity with the Church, the Body of Christ.


Click here to read more about the Sacrament and Liturgy Policies for the Diocese of Yakima